About Us


The Research Help Now Michigan Virtual Reference Service began in February 2004 as a project funded by a U.S. Department of Education Fund for Improvement of Postsecondary Education (FIPSE) grant for the Michigan Colleges Online. Formed by a group of Michigan Community College Libraries to offer Virtual Reference to their communities, it has grown to include several Michigan universities. Research Help Now Virtual Reference Service is made available free of charge to all patrons of the participating Michigan Community Colleges, Cleary University, Eastern Michigan University, Lawrence Technological University, Madonna University, Michigan State University, Oakland University, Spring Arbor University, Walsh College, Wayne State University, and the Michigan Colleges Online (formerly Michigan Community Colleges Virtual Learning Collaborative).

The first year of Research Help Now was funded by the FIPSE Grant. Once the grant period expired in September 2005, funding was taken over by the member libraries. RHN is a service of participating community college and university libraries in Michigan. The Collaborative is staffed by professional librarians from the participating institutions.


Research Help Now supports our educational community with research help from a librarian using 24/7 chat.


Research Help Now will be a growing, indispensable service that enhances the ability of our collaborative libraries to exceed students’ academic research needs by providing the best instructive user experience possible.


Service to students
Quality of service

Contact Us

To find out more about the Research Help Now collaborative or if you want to join Research Help Now, please contact co-administrators:

Sandy McCarthy, Washtenaw Community College
or 734-677-5293
Sara Memmott, Eastern Michigan University
or 734-487-2511
Elizabeth Walker-Papke, Spring Arbor University
  • Last Updated Oct 28, 2022
  • Views 404
  • Answered By Sandy McCarthy

FAQ Actions

Was this helpful? 0 0

Contact Us

RHN Administrators:

Sandy McCarthy, Washtenaw Community College
Sara Memmott, Eastern Michigan University 
Elizabeth Walker-Papke, Cleary University
Suzanne Bernsten, Lansing Community College